logo_newsletter
Thuesday July 20 – Newsletter
20 July 2017
logo_newsletter
Friday July 21 – Newsletter
21 July 2017
Show all

Team EDN is dazzling the audiences at the 2017 NAIG

logo_penden

At the mid-point of the NAIG, which is taking place in Toronto from July 16 to 23, 2017, Sophie Picard, Chef de Mission, took stock of team EDN’s participation.

“Our delegation got off to a great start thanks to a young athlete named Jessy-James Paul-Cleary of Mashteuiatsh who won a gold medal in cross-country on Monday at the very beginning of the competition. This success helped us all get off to a good start and set the tone for other athletes and coaches.”

On Tuesday, the canoe-kayak team made a name for itself by winning no fewer than 16 medals in one day! “This was quite exceptional. Our youth were able to shine in the Under-14, Under-16 and Under-18 categories in the 1000m and 3000m races.”

Wednesday was a very lucrative day for team EDN in terms of medals. “The wrestling team won 2 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze medals for a total of 6 medals. In athletics, team EDN won a gold medal in the women’s Under-19 category in the 1500m race, as well as two silver medals, one in the men’s Under-14 800m race and the other in the women’s Under-19 4x100m race and, finally, the canoe-kayak team won 9 new medals consisting of 2 gold, 4 silver and 2 bronze!”

However, as in any major event, not everything is perfect: “It has been extremely hot in Toronto during the competition with temperatures sometimes exceeding 35 degrees. This complicates matters because many competitions take place outside. To prevent heat stroke, we are ensuring that our athletes stay hydrated. We are very cautious.”

For the remainder of the Games, the Chef de Mission remains optimistic and enthusiastic. “The mission team and coaches are continuing their good work and we continue to encourage and support the athletes, to whom we wish the best of luck for the remainder of the Games. I also want to acknowledge the work of the many volunteers and officials who are doing a fantastic job.”

For videos and photos throughout the NAIG, subscribe to the following social media accounts for team EDN:

Facebook: Équipe PEN – Team EDN

Twitter: @PEN_EDN

Instagram: @EquipePEN_TeamEDN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

logo_infolettre
Infolettre du jeudi 20 juillet
20 July 2017
logo_infolettre
Infolettre du vendredi 21 juillet
21 July 2017
Tout montrer

L’équipe PEN en met plein la vue aux JAAN 2017

logo_penden

À mi-parcours des JAAN, qui se déroulent à Toronto, du 16 au 23 juillet 2017, Sophie Picard, chef de mission, dresse un bilan de la participation de l’équipe PEN.

« Notre délégation a connu un départ en force grâce au jeune athlète Jessy-James Paul-Cleary, de Mashteuiatsh, qui a remporté une médaille d’or en cross-country lundi, au tout début des compétitions. Une telle réussite nous a tous fait partir du bon pied, en plus de donner le ton aux autres athlètes et entraîneurs. »

Mardi, l’équipe de canoë-kayak a fait parler d’elle en remportant pas moins de seize médailles en une seule journée! « C’est tout à fait exceptionnel. Nos jeunes se sont illustrés dans les catégories U14, U16 et U19 aux 1000m et 3000m. »

Mercredi a été une journée plus que rentable pour l’équipe PEN en termes de médailles. « L’équipe de lutte a remporté deux médailles d’or, une d’argent et trois de bronze, pour un total de six médailles. Du côté de l’athlétisme, nous avons remporté une médaille d’or à la course catégorie U19 féminin au 1500m ainsi que deux médailles d’argent, une à la course 800m, catégorie U14 masculin, et l’autre à la course 4x100m, catégorie U19 féminin. Enfin, l’équipe de canoë-kayak a remporté neuf nouvelles médailles, soit deux d’or, quatre d’argent et deux de bronze! »

Par contre, comme dans tout événement d’envergure, tout n’est pas parfait : « Il fait extrêmement chaud à Toronto ces jours-ci, la température ressentie atteignant parfois plus de 35 degrés. Cela vient compliquer les choses, car beaucoup de compétitions ont lieu à l’extérieur. Afin de prévenir les coups de chaleur, on veille à ce que nos athlètes s’hydratent de façon adéquate. Nous sommes très prudents. ».

Pour le reste des Jeux, la chef de mission demeure optimiste et enthousiaste. « L’équipe de mission et les entraîneurs poursuivent leur bon travail et on continue d’encourager et d’accompagner les athlètes, à qui on souhaite la meilleure des chances pour le reste des compétitions. Je tiens également à saluer le travail des nombreux bénévoles et des officiels qui font un travail extra. »

Pour voir des vidéos et des photos tout au long des JAAN, abonnez-vous aux comptes de médias sociaux de l’équipe PEN :

Facebook : Équipe PEN – Team EDN

Twitter : @PEN_EDN

Instagram : @EquipePEN_TeamEDN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *