Frequently asked questions

Click on the following buttons to get answer to our most frequently asked questions.

Accreditation

The host society will distribute an official identification card (with photo) to all athletes, coaches, assistant coaches, managers and mission staff upon their arrival at the NAIG. This proof of ID must be worn AT ALL TIMES, except by athletes during competition. The ID card will be the only means to access competition venues, residences, eating areas, transportation and on-site medical centres. An athlete or coach will not be allowed to access their competition venue without this card.  

 

Meals

Three meals a day will be provided to participants (athletes, coaches, managers and mission staff). Special arrangements can be made to accommodate any food allergy or intolerance. It is a participant’s responsibility to inform food service staff about any allergy or intolerance when arriving at the service counter.  

Athlete registration

Athletes selected for NAIG 2020 must confirm their registration by filling out the following form (link to come) no later than November 15, 2019.  

By confirming their registration, all EDN athletes pledge to respect the Participant’s Commitment.

Insurance

All team members (athletes, coaches, assistant coaches, managers, and mission staff) will be covered by travel insurance. This comprises, among other things, adequate coverage for medical care and hospital services UPON PRESENTATION OF A VALID QUEBEC HEALTH INSURANCE CARD. Everyone is required to have this card on hand before boarding the team bus.  

Calendar, schedule (competition and training) and results 

The competition calendar is currently under development. It will be added to this tab when available. Please note that the Opening Ceremonies and practice day will be held on July 12, 2020 and competitions kick off on July 13, 2020. The host society plans to present the schedule, results and some sections in real time on a web platform that will be available before the NAIG. For more information, visit the host society’s official website at www.naig2020.com. 

Opening and closing ceremonies

Youth and coaches will receive their uniforms before departing for Halifax. It is mandatory to wear this uniform during ceremonies, or traditional or cultural clothing, if desired. If the temperature is above 25 °C, they can wear black shorts (plan to pack in luggage) and their team EDN t-shirt (if applicable, a notice regarding this will be sent to coaches).  

The Opening Ceremonies will take place on July 12, 2020 at Scotia Bank Centre in Halifax.  

Parents, supporters and the general public will be able to attend this event: 

On-site:  

  • Seats will be available for the public through the Scotia Bank Centre. Tickets will be available for purchase on the host society’s website. Ticket cost and date of sale have not yet been determined.    
  • The ceremony will also be broadcast on giant screens outside Scotia Bank Centre.  

Remotely: 

A live broadcast of the ceremony on television or online remains to be confirmed.  

The Closing Ceremonies will take place on July 18, 2020 at Garrison Grounds in Halifax.  

 

Communications

A communications team will be on site at the NAIG to ensure coverage of competitions and distribution of team EDN results. Many platforms will be used. All details will be available as the NAIG approaches. Subscribe to the team EDN Facebook page to stay connected at all times.   

In the event of an emergency, it will be possible to contact the coach of the affected athlete.  

Composition of Team EDN for the NAIG 2020

  • 76 adults (head coaches, assistant coaches, managers and mission staff) 
  • 307 athletes aged 12 to 19 

The head coach is directly responsible for each of their athletes. Mission staff ensure activities run smoothly and support coaches and managers in their duties.  

Cultural component

In addition to sports competitions, a Cultural Village will be set up in Halifax Commons, a centrally-located green space in Halifax. This location is close to various competition venues and the Athlete Village so easy to access for all.  

Cultural component programming is being developed. Information on this topic will be added to this section when available.  

Accommodations

The host society will provide accommodations for the various delegations. All team EDN athletes and coaches will be lodged at the same location, either a hotel or university residence. All accommodation-related information will be added to this section as soon as we have the details.  

Athletes must respect any rules and curfew set by the host society or their coach, as appropriate.  

For parents who want to attend the NAIG, it is recommended to reserve your accommodations as soon as possible given the high turnout expected in Halifax for the duration of the event. Information on competition venues for each discipline can be found herehttp://pen-edn.com/disciplines-sportives-pen-edn/. 

 

Luggage and equipment to bring

It is important for every athlete to bring their 

– Valid health insurance card 

– Status Card or Inuit or Inuvialuit identification 

Here is a list of items to pack in athletes’ luggage: 

Light clothing and comfortable shoes (outdoor and short distance trips on foot)  

  • Pair of black shorts (in case of excessive heat during the Opening Ceremonies) 

Running shoes  

Medication for the duration of the NAIG or other (if required) 

Ball cap or hat and sunglasses 

Snacks for the ride to Halifax 

Sports team uniform and equipment, as required 

Sunscreen 

Water bottle 

*Spending money 

Please note that three meals a day will be provided to all athletes. Transportation and accommodation costs are also included in the registration fee ($280 per athlete) paid in advance. However, it is possible that teams will visit various nearby tourist sites where entry fees widely vary. Regarding how much spending money to provide, it is recommended to discuss this with your child’s coach to learn their intentions regarding the organization of activities during the NAIG.  

**Seasonal clothing 

The temperature in Halifax will likely be quite warm. The average temperature in July 2019 was 23 °C during the day.  

Please note that team EDN is not responsible for lost, damaged or stolen items. Each participant is responsible for their personal belongings.  

Questions and additional information

Before the NAIG 

If you have questions, please contact your child’s coach. If they are unable to respond, you can contact Virginie Aspirot-Buron at 418842-1540, ext. 2713. 

During the NAIG 

For more information, please visit the pen-edn.com/ websitethe team EDN Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/EquipePENteamEDN/ or write to info@pen-edn.com. 

A daily newsletter will be sent to parents at the email address provided when they registered their child. 

Safety

Safety is a top priority for team EDN and the host society. Safety protocols have been defined and will be implemented to ensure the safety of participants at all competition and lodging venues.  

Coaches are required to remain with their youth participants at all times to keep an eye on them.  

All adults, coaching and mission staff, provided a criminal background check and have met any governing rules regarding safety established by the NAIG Council.  

Athletes and their chaperones will be housed in a hotel or university residence. Boys and girls will be housed separately. Coaching and mission staff will also make some surprise visits to ensure established rules are respected.  

Medical care

The host society is working to develop its medical services offer for the duration of the NAIG. To this end, athletes should have a valid health insurance card in their possession.  

Refer to the ‘Insurance’ section for information about service coverage 

Team transportation

Departure and return  

On July 11, 2020, athletes have to make their own way to a centralized location that will be determined by mission staff (Montréal, Québec or Matane)Unless advised otherwise, the return trip is scheduled to return to the same location on July 19, 2020 at the end of the day.  

Information on location, departure and return times, contact names, etc. will be posted on this page starting in July 2020. Unless they have received authorization from the chef de mission, all athletes must travel to the NAIG on the team bus.  

Meals and snacks 

Athletes should plan to have breakfast before boarding the bus and should pack snacks to last for the duration of the trip.  

Information on meal management while travelling to and from the NAIG will be available as soon as possible.  

On-site 

There will be free transportation between venues in Halifax. 

Early departure 

If a parent wants to leave with their child at the end of a competition, they can do so by filling out the ‘Parental waiver of liability – early departure’ (by downloading it from this site) [PROVIDE LINK], or by receiving a copy from Virginie Aspirot-Buron by email at vaspirot @cssspnql.com. This waiver should be sent by email to Virginie or handed to the athlete’s coach before the competitions begin.    

Team values

Alteam EDN members are expected to proudly wear team colours in keeping with its values: respect, team spirit and athletic excellence. Everyone must comply with team EDN and host society regulations outlined in the Participant’s Commitment’.

Consumption of alcohol, cannabis, drugs or commercial tobacco is prohibited for the duration of the NAIGIf a participant is found to have violated these rules, they will be returned home at their parents’ expense, regardless of the impact this could have on the rest of the team.  

Transportation information

Information to come.

Questions fréquentes

Cliquez sur les onglets ci-dessous pour obtenir plus d’informations sur les questions les plus fréquemment posées.

Accréditation

La société hôtesse remet une carte officielle d’identification (avec photo) à tous les athlètes, entraîneurs, entraîneurs adjoints, gérants et membres du personnel de mission à leur arrivée aux JAAN. Cette preuve d’identification doit obligatoirement être portée EN TOUT TEMPS, sauf par les athlètes durant une compétition. Cette carte sera le seul moyen d’accéder aux sites de compétition, aux résidences, aux endroits où seront pris les repas, aux moyens de transport et aux centres médicaux sur place. Sans carte, un athlète ou un entraîneur ne pourra donc pas entrer sur son site de compétition.

Alimentation

Trois repas par jour seront fournis aux participants (athlètes, entraîneurs, gérants et membres du personnel de mission). Des dispositions particulières seront mises en place pour tenir compte des allergies ou des intolérances alimentaires. Il est de la responsabilité des participants de le mentionner aux responsables de la distribution des repas lorsqu’ils se présenteront au comptoir de service.

Inscription des athlètes

Les athlètes sélectionnés pour les JAAN 2020 doivent confirmer leur inscription en remplissant le formulaire suivant (lien à venir) au plus tard le 15 novembre 2019.

En confirmant leur inscription, tous les athlètes de l’équipe PEN s’engagent à respecter  L’engagement du participant .

Assurances

Tous les membres de l’équipe (athlètes, entraîneurs, entraîneurs adjoints, gérants, et personnel de mission) seront couverts par une assurance voyage. Cette dernière prévoit, entre autres, la couverture nécessaire pour les soins médicaux et les services hospitaliers SUR PRÉSENTATION DE LA CARTE D’ASSURANCE MALADIE DU QUÉBEC VALIDE. Cette dernière est donc exigée pour tous lors du départ en autobus.

Calendrier, horaire (compétitions et entraînements) et résultats

On établit actuellement le calendrier des compétitions. Il sera ajouté à cet onglet lorsquil sera prêt. Veuillez noter que la cérémonie douverture et le début des pratiques auront lieu le 12 juillet 2020 et que les compétitions débuteront le 13 juillet 2020. La société hôtesse prévoit présenter lhoraireles résultats et certaines parties en temps réel sur une plateforme Web qui sera accessible quelque temps avant les JAAN. Pour plus dinformations, consultez le site officiel de la société hôtesse, au www.naig2020.com.  

Cérémonie d’ouverture et de fermeture

Les jeunes et leurs entraîneurs recevront leur uniforme au moment de leur départ pour Halifax. Ils devront obligatoirement porter cet uniforme lors des cérémonies ou encore des vêtements traditionnels ou culturels, sils le désirent. Si la température dépasse les 25°C, ils pourront porter un short noir (à prévoir dans les bagages) et leur t-shirt de léquipe PEN (sil y a lieu, un avis sera transmis aux entraîneurs à cette fin). 

La cérémonie douverture se tiendra le 12 juillet 2020, au Centre Scotia Bank, à Halifax.  

Les parents, les supporteurs et la population pourront assister à cet événement: 

Sur place : 

  • Des sièges seront à la disposition du public à même le Centre Scotia BankLes billets seront mis en vente sur le site de la société hôtesse. Le coût et la date de la mise en vente nont pas encore été déterminés. 
  • La cérémonie sera également projetée sur des écrans géants, à lextérieur du Centre Scotia Bank. 

À distance : 

La retransmission en direct de la cérémonie à la télévision et/ou sur Internet reste à confirmer. 

La cérémonie de fermeture aura lieu le 18 juillet 2020, au Garrison Grounds, à Halifax. 

Communications

Une équipe dédiée aux communications sera sur place dans le cadre des JAAN afin dassurer la couverture des compétitions et la diffusion des résultats de léquipe PEN. Plusieurs tribunes seront utilisées. Tous les détails seront transmis à lapproche des JAAN. Pour rester à laffût, abonnez-vous à la page Facebook de léquipe PEN. 

Pour toute urgence, il sera possible de communiquer avec lentraîneur de lathlète concerné. 

Composition de l’équipe PEN pour les JAAN 2020

  • 76 adultes (entraîneurschefs, entraîneurs adjoints, gérants et personnel de mission) 
  • 307 athlètes de 12 à 19 ans 

Le responsable principal de chaque athlète est son entraîneurchef. Le personnel de mission a pour mandat de veiller au bon déroulement des activités et dappuyer les entraîneurs et les gérants dans leurs fonctions. 

Volet culturel

En plus des compétitions sportives, un village culturel sera aménagé au Halifax Common, un espace vert localisé au centre de la ville dHalifax. Cet espace, situé à proximité des différents sites de compétitions et du village des athlètes, sera donc facile daccès pour tous. 

La programmation du volet culturel est en cours délaboration. Les informations à ce sujet seront insérées dans cette section lorsquelles seront disponibles. 

Hébergement

La société hôtesse assurera lbergement des différentes délégations. Il est prévu que tous les athlètes et les entraîneurs de léquipe PEN seront hébergés au même endroit, soit à lhôtel ou dans une résidence universitaireToutes les informations concernant lhébergement seront ajoutées à cette section lorsque nous aurons les détails. 

Les athlètes devront respecter les règles et le couvre-feu établis par la société hôtesse ou par leur entraîneur, selon le cas. 

Pour les parents qui souhaitent assister aux JAAN, il est recommandé de réserver votre lieu dhébergement le plus tôt possible étant donné le fort achalandage prévu à Halifax pour la durée de lévénement. Les informations sur les sites de compétition pour chaque discipline sportive se trouvent ici : http://pen-edn.com/disciplines-sportives-pen-edn/.  

Bagages et matériel à apporter

Il est important que chaque athlète apporte avec lui sa: 

– Carte dassurance maladie valide 

– Carte de Certificat de statut dIndien ou Statut de bénéficiaire Inuit ou Inuvialuit 

Voici la liste des articles à inclure dans les bagages des athlètes : 

– Vêtements légers et chaussures confortables (des déplacements à pied et à lextérieur sont à prévoir) 

  • Un short noir (en cas de chaleur élevée pendant la cérémonie douverture) 

Espadrilles de sport  

Médicaments pour la durée des JAAN ou autre (au besoin) 

Casquette ou chapeau et lunettes solaires 

Collations pour le transport vers Halifax 

Uniforme de léquipe sportive et équipement, au besoin 

Crème solaire 

Gourde deau 

*Argent de poche 

Sachez que trois repas par jour seront fournis à tous les athlètes. Les frais de transport et dhébergement sont aussi compris dans les frais dinscription (280$ par athlète) payés au préalable. Toutefois, il est possible que les équipes se rendent à différents sites touristiques aux alentours, où les coûts varient considérablement. Pour la question du montant dargent de poche à fournir, il est donc recommandé de discuter avec lentraîneur de votre enfant pour connaître ses intentions concernant l’organisation d’activités externes aux JAAN. 

**Vêtements adaptés à la saison 

La température à Halifax risque dêtre assez élevée. À titre indicatif, en juillet 2019la température était en moyenne de 23°C le jour. 

Prenez note que léquipe PEN nest pas responsable des objets perdus, endommagés ou volés. En ce sens, chaque participant est responsable de ses effets personnels. 

Questions et informations supplémentaires

Avant les JAAN 

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec lentraîneur de votre enfant. Sil nest pas en mesure dy répondre, vous pouvez communiquer avec Virginie Aspirot-Buron, au 418-842-1540, poste 2713. 

Pendant les JAAN 

Pour toute information, visitez le site pen-edn.com/ ou la page Facebook de léquipe PEN https://www.facebook.com/EquipePENteamEDN/, ou encore écrire à info@pen-edn.com. 

Une infolettre quotidienne sera acheminée aux parents via ladresse courriel fournie lors de linscription de leur enfant. 

Sécurité

La sécurité est une priorité pour léquipe PEN et pour la société hôtesse. Des protocoles de sécurité ont été établis et seront mis en place afin de veiller à la sécurité des participants sur tous les sites de compétition et dhébergement. 

Les entraîneurs sont tenus de demeurer avec les jeunes en tout temps afin de veiller sur eux. 

Tous les adultes faisant partie du personnel entraîneur et du personnel de mission ont été soumis à une vérification des antécédents judiciaires et répondent aux exigences des règles de gouvernance en matière de sécurité prescrites par le Conseil des JAAN. 

Les athlètes et leurs accompagnateurs seront hébergés dans un hôtel ou une résidence universitaire. Les garçons et les filles seront séparés. Léquipe de mission et le personnel entraîneur feront aussi des visites surprises afin de veiller au respect des règles établies. 

Soins médicaux

La société hôtesse travaille à élaborer loffre de services médicaux pour la durée des JAAN. À cet effet, les athlètes devront avoir en leur possession une carte dassurance maladie valide. 

Pour la couverture des services, veuillez consulter la section « assurances ». 

Transports de l’équipe

Départ et retour 

Le 11 juillet 2020, les athlètes devront se rendre, par leurs propres moyens, à un endroit centralisé qui sera déterminé par léquipe de mission (Montréal, Québec ou Matane). À moins davis contraire, le retour se fera au même endroit, le 19 juillet 2020, en fin de journée. 

Linformation sur lemplacement, les heures de départ et de retour, le nom des responsables, etc. sera affichée sur cette page au début du mois de juillet 2020. À moins davoir obtenu une autorisation de la chef de mission, tous les athlètes devront se rendre aux JAAN dans les autobus de léquipe. 

Repas et collations 

À laller, les athlètes devront avoir déjeuné à leur embarquement dans lautobus et avoir prévu leurs collations pour la durée du trajet. 

Linformation sur la gestion des repas pour les trajets daller et de retour sera disponible dès que possible. 

Sur place 

À Halifax, les transports dun site à lautre seront offerts gratuitement. 

Départs hâtifs 

À la fin des compétitions, si un parent souhaite partir avec son jeune, il pourra le faire en remplissant le formulaire «Décharge de responsabilités parentales – départ hâtif» (en le téléchargeant sur ce site [FOURNIR LE LIEN] ou en se le procurant auprès de Virginie Aspirot-Buron par courriel, au vaspirot@cssspnql.comCe formulaire devra être envoyé par courriel à Virginie ou remis avant le début des compétitions à lentraîneur de lathlète concerné. 

Valeurs de l’équipe

Tous les membres de léquipe PEN devront porter fièrement les couleurs de léquipe dans le respect de ses valeurs: le respect, lesprit déquipe et lexcellence athlétique. Tous doivent respecter les règles de léquipe PEN et de la société hôtesse, présentées dans le formulaire «Engagement du participant» (insérer le document). 

La consommation dalcool, de cannabis, de drogues ou de tabac commercial est interdite pendant toute la durée des JAANDans le cas où un participant contreviendrait à ces règles, il sera retourné à la maison aux frais de ses parents, peu importe les conséquences que cette situation aura envers le reste de son équipe. 

Athlètes

EDN Team

Informations relatives au transport